Choose your language

Board of Directors

Ning Shan
Non-Executive Chairman of the Board

Mr. Ning Shan serves as our chairman of the board since May 2021. Mr. Shan brings more than 30 years of experience in Telecommunication and Engineering Industries. He has held senior management positions in various entities, including Beijing Design   Institute of Ministry of Post and Telecommunication, Design Institute of CMCC Group, Datang Telecom Technology Industry Group. Before joining UTStarcom, he served as Vice Chairman of Hangzhou Yi Yi Tai Di Information Technology Co., Ltd. Mr. Shan received a bachelor’s degree in Telecommunications Engineering from Changchun College of Telecommunication (Jilin University) in 1984. He received an MBA degree in Information Communication Management from Norwegian BI and Fudan University in 2004 and received an EMBA degree from HEC Paris in 2007.

Zhaochen Huang
Non-Executive Director

Dr. Huang serves as a director of the Board of Directors since January 2021. Zhaochen joined the Company since 2011 and brings with him more than thirty years of business and management expertise. He previously served as Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer, Senior Vice President of Sales & Business Development for Japan and Korea, Vice-President of Global Operations and General Manager of UTStarcom India.  Dr. Huang came to the Company from Soliton Systems, K.K. where he served in various capacities including General Manager of Soliton Systems Inc., USA and VP of Research and Development of Soliton Systems Shanghai.  Prior to that, Dr. Huang worked at SECOM Co., LTD. and Nanjing Institute of Solid Device. He received his doctorate degree of Engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology.

Sean Shao
Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee and Compensation Committee

Mr. Sean Shao currently serves as (i) independent director and chairman of the audit committee of: 21Vianet Group, Inc., a carrier-neutral internet data center services provider listed on NASDAQ since August 2015; Jumei International Holding Ltd., an e-commerce company listed on NYSE since May 2014; LightInTheBox Holdings Co. Ltd., an e-commerce company listed on NYSE since June 2013 and UTStarcom Holdings Corp., a provider of broadband equipment and solutions listed on NASDAQ since October 2012, (ii) independent director and chairman of the audit and compensation committees of China Biologic Products, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company listed on NASDAQ since July 2008.  He served as the chief financial officer and a Board member of Trina Solar Limited from 2006 to 2008 and from 2015 to 2017, respectively.  In addition, Mr. Shao served from 2004 to 2006 as the chief financial officer of ChinaEdu Corporation, an educational service provider, and of Watchdata Technologies Ltd., a Chinese security software company.  Prior to that, Mr. Shao worked at Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu CPA Ltd. for approximately a decade.  Mr. Shao received his master’s degree in health care administration from the University of California at Los Angeles in 1988 and his bachelor’s degree in art from East China Normal University in 1982.  Mr. Shao is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Jintong Lin
Non-Executive Director and Chairman of the Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee

Mr. Jintong Lin serves as the director since September 2019.  He also serves as an independent director of Tongding Interconnection Information Co., Ltd. since 2017.  Additionally, Mr. Lin is an independent director of Comba Telelcom Systems Holding Co., Ltd. and a director of Jiangsu Zhongtian Science and Technology Co., Ltd.   Mr. Lin is currently a consulting professor at Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications.  From 1993 through 2011, he served in a variety of positions at the Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications, including Professor, Vice-President, and Dean of University Faculty.  From 1990 to 1993, Mr. Lin was a researcher at King's College London.  Before that, he was a visiting scholar and doctoral student at University of Southampton.  Mr. Lin earned a bachelor degree in Physics from Peking University in 1969, a master degree in Optical Communication from Peking University in 1981 as well as a doctorate degree in Optoelectronics from University of Southampton in the United Kingdom.

Hao Zheng
Non-Executive Director

Mr. Zheng serves as the director since November 2021.  Mr. Zheng received a professional degree of Master of Engineering in Project Management from Beijing Institute of Technology. Since November 2020, he has been the head of the asset management department of Beijing E-town International Investment Development Co., Ltd. (“BEIID”), in addition to his role as the head of BEIID’s general office since April 2019. Before that, he took various positions at the management committee of Beijing Economic-Technological Development Area.